namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 3 februari 2010

e-mail from a yoga student

Av fredrik binette - 3 februari 2010 09:50

I want to write today about this email that I got from one of my yoga participants.. I got it a while ago and just want to share some with whom ever reads this : )

 

 it is some about destiny, it is some about feeling thankful, it is some about the effects of yoga and the experiences when doing yoga more regularly..

 

 I always try to explain to the participants that are truly interested in practicing yoga that it is importent they try to do it regularly, then the effects will be experienced more clearly. and if doing this more then once a week of cours even more clearly and "faster". of course it can never be given a timeline when some things might hapend or not, I think if we search to much we might not find it, we might instead be more stressed up with not getting what we want and then loose faith and quit..
regularity is eve more importent for thoose who would like to find the benefits of meditation..

 

 my dear freinds, there are no shortcuts..

 

 also we all are looking for different things in our yoga practice, and what I really like about the yogic journey is that this will also change during it. we start maybe for examble with doing asana practice because we feel stiff, then after a while suddenly we are longing more for the part where we just lie still an breath, and when having a break from yoga for what ever reason we also realize that we actually are feeling a bit more mentally unstable when not doing our yoga practice etc.
many effects are subtle and "grows" in us slowly and "changes us" for the better, often we dont even realize it until we dont do our practice he he.

 






 

anyway, one of my yoga participants [lets call this person "ॐ"] have had what I understand a rough period recently, and lately been almost hyper active in the mind.. and decided to see if yoga could be a good way get balanced.

 

 so.. ॐ went to a yogic festival, wich is quit a step if not that experienced in the yogic world, there ॐ met a girl and they talked and this girl recommended me as a teacher.
I have seen the progress of ॐ during this time, and it is only been maybe 6 months, for me it is clearly the mental bit that is most obviously changed. ॐ has been one of my most regular participants during this term, 2-3 times a week [mostly 3times].
I am sure ॐ also does some things at home, like trying to meditate and maybe some breating excersize or so.

I know also that the calming effect of natural breath and full yogic breath is something that ॐ has really enjoyed, it something so easy but if doing it regularly and consious it makes such a difference, but "everyone" thinks that everything that is gonna give results has to be so difficult and advanced, but the fact is easy does it, if doing it regularly..it is so clearly that everything is connected and I think that most of the time we need to start with the mental issues, then the rest will come..

 

so.. ॐ wrote me this e-mail and explained to me that with yoga ॐ has goten to understand what relaxation really is both mentally and physically.. also ॐ have had a quit strong psychological respons [and ॐ has talked to people with knowledge about theese things].. as a better sleep wich was a big factor for ॐ that the sleep was terrible, but also quit interesting ॐ has started to process a lot while dreaming, things that was earlier maybe mentally blocked with the instinctively defense we have when things are to hard for us to deal with.
and then when ॐ mentally started to open up, also the physical body is starting to respond and "rince out",

 

so.. ॐ then ended with saying "thank you" and how happy ॐ was about taking the desicion to go to the yogic festival from there find me & my yoga thru a recommendation, and also to find "the small oasis" buddha spa [my studio].

 

my point with this blog is for you to understand, if practice regularly with an open mind & patience the effects will come, in many levels depending on your mental & physical status.

 

I just love to hear when participants tell me what effects yoga has given them, it doesn't have to be enourmous changes, but..
for some when practice patiently it can actually give you a whole new way of looking at things and a new way of how you approach things both in your mind and in your physical life. 

sometimes you realize the difference, sometimes your friends sees the difference more clearly ; )

 

so thank you ॐ for your e-mail, and for sharing..

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards