namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 11 februari 2010

banana leaf experience

Av fredrik binette - 11 februari 2010 08:34

remebering chatning hare rama, hare rama, rama rama, hare hare over & over again while entering the dining hall at the ashram, most participants I think was chanting along everyday, some didn't, also I think on depending on your energy level & mental status at the moment what you feel like doing.
one thing for me during this shorter stay at the ashram I had [8days] was that in the beginning the chanting was a bit to much, also since I am havent done that super much really, my teacher training had not much at all wich was the main difference between my and the Sivananda societys course, mine was a bit more focus on other things instead wich I today value a lot!
but I love listening to mantra signing and chanting just it was so much I felt the first two days or so.
 
started the day after meditation with 1hour or more in the morning satsang, then of course some before and after asana practice, and as i mentioned when entering the dining hall for lunch, then before & after next asana class, again in dining hall before evening meal and... a longer in the evening satsang again plus ending the evening with aarti of course..
puh...

but after a while I started to enjoy the chanting more & more, especially at the satsangs & the aarti, even if not religious sitting there chanting hindu gods names, and also here mohammed, buddha, jesus etc gives a certain feeling. mantra is more about the vibration also not just all about the gods. but... chanting is a part of the spiritual practice if doing yoga seriously, it is a part of Bhakti Yoga [Yoga of Devotion].
in the beginning I was mostly sitting and listening and started more & more enjoyed it [I never disliked it, just felt it was a bit TO much in the beginning] then in I started to sing along reading the folder of chanting that they hand out, and in the end of this trip I was singing along to most of the chants without the text-folder, it is more of repeating after the main singer says really...

anyway ha ha
this certain day after chanting when entering the dining hall we got served our meal on a banana leaf, I think this was christmas day probably. and also this day we got special treat with extra details in the food, but the also said not to eat to much of some parts since easy digestioned food is a big & importent part here.
I really like how something small like getting to eat on a banana leaf suddenly feels so special, I mean we are so spoiled in our ordinary materalistic life really..
also that day automaticly we didn't have to clean our plates ha ha, just folded the leaf in half and left it there and then the karma yogis who had dining hall duty picked them up and threw them away somewhere.
a man I met at the ashram who is also into some form of hypnosis, he took these pictures from that day.. so I hope mr K is fine with me borrowing them for my blog ha ha.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards