namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 21 februari 2010

yoga lecture & public transport chaos..

Av fredrik binette - 21 februari 2010 21:36

so today I held a relaxed yoga lecture at my yoga studio.
I really like to teach also the theory parts to people that like to know more..
today was a bit hard since it was an open lecture and with people I dont know, so I had no idea really what people were expecting and also what knowledge they already had.
so my plan was to skim through some main things that I feel is important to know at least some about, like the fact what yoga is and what it means from the beginning, that "all" the forms of todays modern yoga under the branch of hatha yoga follows the 8 limbs according to Patanjalis Yoga Sutras.
and just some small things about those 8 stages.
also explaining the main differences in the 2 main yoga schools of today [developed by disciples of the 2 gurus: Krishnamacharya & Sivananda].
and some talk about "why vegetarian food" and "the importance to build a yoga asana class correctly"
..and some sidetracks I fell into as usual since I like to talk about them so much ha ha..

only thing though that today my day was so stressfull, so I had NO time to prepare before the lecture, I wanted to go thru some things and just put a structure to it.
so I hope they didnt felt like a rambling speech about this and that to much..

I just dont like when not being proper prepared, even if I know all the things already, the actual info/knowledge is not something I am to stressed about,
it is more to get an total feeling and getting everything comming together etc.

but my day looked like this:
woke up, went towards the hathayoga class I teach every sunday at 10.30, since it has been so cold & snow storms here the subway has had trouble so I left a bit extra early.
it usually takes 25minutes, today it took 1.5 hours.
I ended up 15 minutes late to my class and there were 21 participants waiting there for me,
then afterwards I had to go back home again to feed my dogs and get my computer and to prepare for the lecture [was the plan but I had no time].
again it took 1.5h to get home from yoga class and then from home to my studio another 1h.
so I arrived only 2 minutes before I was gonna open up the studio for the lecture,
so I had to stress around in the studio with people there already to lighten all candles and incense etc.
things I really wanted to be done when people started to come to get the whole "buddha spa experience"..
luckely my buddha partner "A" had been there earlier in the morning to give an spa-massage and she had beautifuly arranged the yogastudio already.


  

I do have to say that the public transport here is under all critics..
Stockholm a "big" city, our capitol of this country in a northenr winter country.. and every year they get problem with the subway because of snow ha ha, and today they actually had to totally shut down a really big part of the subway route, and they had not ordered busses instead in time and also to the wrong subway route, so it was total chaos and peole were super angry and cold since it is really crazy winter weather right now.
and there came 2 busses that was going for another route where the subway actually still worked, so instead of helping 100 cold angry people waiting they left 1 totally empty and 1 had just one passenger in it. just because they were not allowed to change, just follow oreders where to go.. haha ha no flexibility and also no communication so no one knew anything about if any busses were on its way etc.
the sad thing is I left first at 09.15 and when I lefte again from my house to have this yoga lecture about 15.00 it was still the same issue with no subways and to few busses..
I feel embarrased for their sake to not be able to run the public transport more correct ad not being able to solve the problems.
actualla the poor subway "hosts" that came to show everyone where to go to take the busses finally got barked at so much that they themselves started to talk about how bad their bosses were and that they have made so many misstakes.. my god!

so anyway I hope the people who attended my relaxed small yoga lecture today got some new knowledge, or opened up an interest to someone to learn more or for someone to get an "aha" experience or so..
that they all got something out of it somehow.

now a long exhale for me and just relax and calm down after a hectic day..

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards