namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 18 januari 2010

1: days in a Yoga Ashram

Av fredrik binette - 18 januari 2010 16:19

some about my experiences in the ashram I vistied in southern India.

I arrived quit tired after a long flight with 12h transit waiting in Doha, Qatar.
the small Thiruvananthapuram Airport was were my short India trip started.
from there I took a pre-paid taxi towards the Yoga Ashram.
it was about an 1 hour drive, and I was planning to sleep along the way mostly.
but...
when driving thru the small villages on the way out in the countryside at 05.30 in the morning there was a ridiculously loud sound of mantra/praying songs screaming out from loud speakers hanging in the trees. how can people live here?

someone at the ashram later on explained to me that the temples of certain areas put up speakers so they are sure everyone can hear their prayers, here they were lucky because some places there are more temples and then that they also start to "compete" about beeing heard and it is even louder and on top of that 2 or more different mantras songs playing loud at the same time all day long.

anyway after the our drive the taxi stopped, it was 06.05 am.
he said the ashram should be open all the time, but on their web site they stated that you should check in after 14.00 in the afternoon,
but I was so tired and had no will to go somewhere else first so I took a chance.
    




standing outside the gate my driver suddenly pressed the electric doorbell ha ha ha, it was quit loud and you could hear someone running to open the gates wich seamed unlocked if I had just had the time to try opening it before he rung the doorbell..
I wispered if I could come in, the young indian boy said yes, and pointed towards the reception.
I went towards the reception just a few meters from the entrance, there was a really quiet and calm feeling and you could here some crickets and a strange sound from a distance wich I will tell you more about later..

but suddenly I heard a cough, I looked sideways and realized that next to the entrance was also the Siva Hall, the place for all asanas, kirtans, Satsang & meditation..
I hadn't realized it until now that 3-4 meters in the darknes [because this was about time for the dawn], from me sat about 150persons in their morning meditation,
I felt so bad since the taxidriver had rung the door bell..

good start?!

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards