namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 18 januari 2010

2: days in a Yoga Ashram

Av fredrik binette - 18 januari 2010 16:52

I decided to try to get som sleep, so I lied down on the bench in the closed reception. now it was when dawn became sunrise, and I right away started to get some mosquito bites of course, they just looove me!
I was so tired, I had slept some during the journey to get here but just a few hours lighly here & there so n real & deep sleep.

suddenly I heard a person sing out aaaaaauuuummmm and after getting just maybe a third of his long AUM the rest chanted along, I felt like goose bumps all over my body, and from that moment I lied there enjoyed maybe 20 minutes of chanting at least. the leader chanted first and then all the yogis & yoginins answered by repeating his chant. the also started to play some drums and other hand-cymbal like instruments that you shake with your hand [dont remember the name right now ha ha].


then from nowhere came this indian man and he had with him a young western girl in, and he said loud and clear "sit up" to me, and he knocked on a door, apparently there was someone lways there if you enter ha ha I had no clue I thought it was closed.. I got to sign a lot of papers and pay for upcomming 3 days wich is their minimum stay.then I got a bed sheat, a cotton cloth sheat, a pillow & a mosquito net. then a quit bored indian boy showed me the way to one of the mens dorms. I looked aorund and took a bed wich had a free bed next to it, and I started to make my bed and look around.




  


one elderly grey haired & bearded Indian man came and said hello to me, and some others that passed by also said hi. but this very kind indian man explained to me a bit about the dorm and so, and then he said that I should come and meet everyone since no it is "tea time", then I could go and sleep if I wanted. He also helped me to get a water bottle since they dont sell bottled water here and I didn't bring a bottle either.
after tea time I washed my cup in the sink as all others, then I felt a bit energized and thouhgt that maybe it is better to do a yoga class and then I might sleep better and also my body will feel better from all travelling and sitting still to get here.

so I decided to take the begonners class for a soft start, nd that was a good decision, not at all very tough and since I know "all" I didnt have any trouble just letting my body slowly awaken.
after the 2 hour class it was brunch [or actually breakfast since no meal is taken before the 10am meal.

when entering the eating hall they were all singing mantras, "hare, hare rama, rama rama, hare hare" "Krishna, hare krishna, krishna krishna, hare hare", then the "priest" [not sure what he his title was really, he also did the Aarti every evening to end up the day before bed time] said "one last time" and after that he told all who was serving food "please, no serving during prayer" and he did the prayer.
then we all could eat, here you eat sitting on the floor on mats made of some kind of Bast fibre, you eat in silence and only with your right hand.
people who had got karma yoga in the kitchen were serving the food.
I could see some girls mainly that had brought their own spones ha ha.

after food I had a good nap, it felt kind of empty in the dorm but I later realizied this time was when many did their karma yoga.

todays lecture was "Vedic Mathematics" wich was a bit tricky, and also with a tired mind understanding the Indian english was a bit hard, but it was still a rather interesting lecture.

to be continued...

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards