namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 18 januari 2010

3: days in a Yoga Ashram

Av fredrik binette - 18 januari 2010 17:33

just before the lecture of Vedic Mathematics it was tea time again, twice a day : )
the morning tea time was a more regular milk tea chai, you could choose the regular sweet version or the unsweetend, but most took the "true" version ha ha.
the afternoon tea tmie was herbal tea if different kinds, not allways equally good but still nice, usually during the afternoon teatimes we also got some fruit or bisquits.

I was actualy planning to take the intermediate class this first afternoon since I felt a bit stronger after my food & nap, so I went up to the the Siva Hall this time [the first class I was in the lower hall, wich is underneath the main hall, but they are equally big just nit as much height.. after a while I got a bit worried, there was this youn indina guy teaching this class, and it was so calm and easy and I startedt to thnk my teacher training must have been really hard since the classes here are not even half or a third of the classes I was tought and also teach myself ha ha. the morning class I actually had the director as the teacher, he is running this ashram since a long time and he is from italy but lived most his life in Zimbabwe someone told me. He used to be a Swami, but then suddenly he married this woman from the Delhi center and now he is living in sin? there was a lot of talk about how he could still be the director, but I guess he was so good at it? I really liked him and his approach, very calm and humble, at least the parts I saw of him.

  

anyway, after class I found out that I had managed to take the beginners class again, that they switch halls ha ha.
but I guess it was quit good for me to take it easy the first day anyway.
after class it was dinner at 18.00, then a small break until eveing satsang.

satsang is interesting, this was a part that my teacher training didn't do almost at all.
at least not the kirtan/mantra singing/chanting part.
so it began with a 15-30minute meditation, then the chanting, in the mornings they did more maybe about 1h? but in the evening this time of year it is a bit shorter since they had a lot of cultural shows with indian guests playing sitar, dancing, a christmas special, temple music etc.

but this my first evening satsang I was almost falling [litterarly falling ha ha] a sleep a few times and todays special topic was vedic astrology, wich was not that interesting at all.. I could see many participants left or wsnt there at all wich confused me.
and to sit this much on the floor as you do during the days here is taking its part on stiff backs ha ha.

so you start the day with sitting in meditation & for chanting during the morning Satsang about 1,5 hours
then you sit again in asana class for the mantra & pranayamas maybe 30 minutes?
then again when eating for 20minutes at least. 
in the afternoon you sit about 1-1,5hours during lecture,
and then again for mantra & pranayama in the afternoon asana class, ending the evening with sitting first thru dinner on the floor again
and then conclude with 2-2,5h for the evening satsang.

tomorrow it is christmas eve..

 
 
Gaurav Tekriwal

Gaurav Tekriwal

18 januari 2010 20:00

Hi!
What did they tell u on Vedic Mathematics?
Did they teach you the Math or the philosophy behind it?

Check our site on the topic out.
www.vedicmathsindia.org

cheers
Gaurav

http://www.vedicmathsindia.org

 
Fredrik

Fredrik

3 februari 2010 14:39

Hi

it was Dr Haridas from Trissur that had the lecture.. I think he is a bit known but not sure.
he showed & thought us some of the variations to use.
quit interesting and so much easier and faster then our way of calculating.

regards

Fredrik

http://namaste.bloggplatsen.se

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards