namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 18 januari 2010

5: days in a Yoga Ashram

Av fredrik binette - 18 januari 2010 18:36

after a few days I felt at the same time a bit sore in my body,
both from sitting so much on the floor and I was really fighting to hold my spine errect to start open up my bad posture ha ha,
but of course also for the fact we were doing 4 hours asana practice everyday.
  

on top of that we had a evening special event, we were invited by the locals to attend a puja up on their holy mountain, this walk to get here was a 45 min walk wich was really steep and in the darkness with help of the flash-lights some smart yogis had. I can honestly say that it was far more hard then I expected, and far mor steap.. here in Sweden this type of group "event" would never be approved for safety reasons ha ha.


and up on the mountain top we were all super sweaty and I think most of us had our thoughts on the fact that we had to do the same thing back again, rather then enjoying the small puja for Kali that was made in a small hut on the mountain top ha ha.
but it was still a cool thing to have done, I dont regret it at all.

  



  


 

the ashram priest had done it the real way, he had walked the way barefoot, as for us the asked us if possible to do the last part barefoot since you are not expected tp have shoes on the wholy mountan. and really it was easier at the end being barefott, you got a better grip on the steap rocks & cliffs : )
 


I have now attended the intermediate classes except from the first day, and the moment I did a intermediate class I felt at home, lovely!
although there are some small differences from the way I was tought it is all very similar of course since within the same tradition.



I rather quickly understood how fortunate I have been to have
1. a great teacher [rest in peace Sivaram]
2. to learn in such a small group as we did.
- there was a lot of things you could notice when a bit less experienced teacher got to teach at the ashram classes.
 


one fun thing for me here has been that even though I have hardly practiced at all I managed to do & develop my scorpio/Vrischikasana, wich has for some reason allways been a favourite asana of mine.
I love to see someone really "bendy" doing it.. beautiful


and my god, I have been sweating so much theese days here ha ha, you are su getting used to feel dirty here, and there is only cold water showers of course..

suddenly one day I realized the kind Indian bearded man who helped me the first day, that I havent seen him.. I then heard they had found out he did a lot of "ganja" so they had to trow him out of the ashram, so sad.. I really liked him and he knew all peoples name almost even though people are not all here a long time..

that is a thing I have started to notice, how hard it is to be here and meating new people and then suddenly some goes away and new ones come and you have again to get to know them a bit etc. a really strange feeling actually..


even though they have all theese roules here and the schedule it is very relaxed, they will never hunt you down if not following exactly etc.


it was quit funny at one of the satsangs the ashram director explained to us that we are expected to follow the ashram rules, and he said it is all in our personal way we see the life within the ashram, just the other day he had got a complaint about the ashram being to free and like a hotel, and at the same day in the same suggestion box someone has said they had to leave the ashram because it was to strict for them..


so everything we do & experience will have such a different outcome depending on how our characters are..

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards