namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 18 januari 2010

6: days in a Yoga Ashram

Av fredrik binette - 18 januari 2010 20:14

only after one day I started to skip using my sandals at the ashram,
I just loooove being barefoot! it can not be compared to India generally, because inside the gates of the ashram it is very clean..


I think about the 5th or 6th day at the asram I booked a appointment at the ayurvedic clinic for a abhyanga massage, this was actually my first. and it was an experience ha ha. there was this man who did the treatment since only men can give massage to a man here at the ashram.
he was short in his sentenses and almost like ordered me what to do, I felt a bit dumb actually at first..
you strip out of all your clothes, then you get like an cotton cloth jockstrap wich has only a string in the back. then you have to lie down on this bench witch felt like to many others have been lying naked on and glided around ha ha, need to say also that in the spartanic enviorment not everyone are super hygenic & clean either..
then he drenches you in oil and gives you this full body massage,
it was quit nice actually, but I had expected something more "harder",
this was kind of mild and more stroking style.
I really enjoyed the steaming he did towards the end and the highlight of the whole thing was actually the hot "bath/shower" you are allowed to take afterwards ha ha

I am not sure though but after this massage I got some reaction, but also at the same time I got a bad stomach, so I am not sure wich was what..
but it felt like I started a real detoxification of my physical body,
one class suddenly it literally poured sweat out from ever part of my body, from each and ever cell it felt like, interesting! I asked some others if tody was extra hot or something during class, but now one had noticed that so..
also since then during the rest of my holiday AFTER the ashmram experience I had a bad stomach now & then, wich I have never had before travelling around south east asia.
hm..


  

I have forgotten to write anything about karma yoga,
everyday if you are new or your duty is done at 11.00 am you meet up in front of the boutique, there came one of the 3 head teachers [Satyam I think he was called] everyday to hand out KarmaYoga to everyone, karma yoga is selfless work you can say, it is when you do a job or help someone with something without gaining anything for it personally, so it is suppose to be a kind of spiritual unselfless deed.
I was lucky I guess, I got to do my karma yoga in the ashram boutique, so I spent about one hour a day, folding pants, filling up the shelf with toiletpaper, cleaning som shelves, and unpacking products & walking to the store getting more yoga mats etc.
there was one lady there wich was the manager of the boutique, she was from Israel and everyone there knew she was kind of though & strict.
maybe when being in this kind of enviorment with new people all the time and new karma yogis chinging quit often so you have to teach them things needs a person like her? but I personally [and she liked me since the others told her I was one of the best karma yogis they have had there for a long time ha ha] thought it was a bit to much, not to humble really wich for me is more fitting in a place like this.. hm..

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards