namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 19 januari 2010

7: days in a Yoga Ashram

Av fredrik binette - 19 januari 2010 16:08

the people at the ashram, the ones like me who came here to endulge a bit in yogic life, there is i big variety really!
most ones are for sure here for the asana practice, that is quit certain..
not all were already familiar with this style of yoga though. that was interesting.. quit many who got surprised over the way "we" do especially the asana practice. since relaxation is a big big part of this tradition for example and also the slightly more time you spend in each asana, especially if used to vinyasa forms of yoga that most western people are.
yes there were mostly western people there, but also some Indian naitives,
of course the Indian people have a total other fee here, I thnk perhaps 1/3 of our rate, but that is understandable I think and still for us it is not much money the amount we pay..


I met this one indian guy who stayed for 3 days, his name was [I think] "Lala" and he was the Indian national champion in "memory" or someting like that.. that ment they read or shown 500 objects in a row, and then he had to resay them afterwards, he got all 500 right and in the quickest time.. that is amazing! crazy really ha ha.

quit many here seamed to have this stay as a short part of their "doing whole India" journey, so stayed here for the 3 minimum days and then continued on, quit a few went to the ashram of "Amma", wichwas not to far away apparently,  you know the woman who is famous for huging everyone and in that way bliss them or something.
also some were regulars here, and quit a few were students of one of ther TTC's and some thinking of staying to the next uppcomming teacher training.

maybe it was my dorm but it felt like a lot of germans here, wich really surprised me at first, then I realized how big yoga is in germany and also that this form of classic hatha yoga is much wider known there then in Sweden.
I met only one Swede here, a girl that I talkt to a few times, they said though that there were a swede here who left just before me, ooh and there was this sweish woman there with her danish man, but she have lived in Amsterdam for many years.

  
there were I few that I got to know a little bit more, and some I didn't talk to at all. 2 guys who were both from Uk who styaed for just a few days, and the kind & über social italian/german man who I talked the most to he is a person I could actually see having contact with in the future, a danish girl who I found out she was an actress in her country I liked her somehow, her energy probably.. she did a shatkarma cleansing so she had a few rough days.. another german man who I talked some to, he was more of a quie person opposit the rumanian girl that felt like she was almost flirting around there and like a trendy person in hte ashram with her sunglasses on and tight clothes ha ha,
also this girl form australia that was "allways" next to me in asana class, there was something special with her we tlaked some also on one of the trips to the holy mountain [wich we did twice, 1 in the darkness for the Kali puja as I have written aready, and once more to see the BEAUTIFUL sunrise up there and morning meditation].
just one of those persons that you somehow feel connected to without knowing why, we realized after a few days that we didn't even know each others name.
the funny thing is for her I was "the scorio king" and without her knowing [I didn't tell her either actually ha ha] I refered to her in my mind as "the Scorpio woman"..
our first and many contats were in asana class during headstand variations when she was trying to manage to do the scorpio and I tried to help her in various ways.
in the end before I left she managed to do it and held it for quit some time, awesome!
she seamed like such a kind & humble person and her eyes were very dark and calm. she just gave an impression on me..
our energies connected or something. one class she was feeling weak and it actually felt strange not having her next to me during asana practice ha ha.
interesting how some people affect you in different ways without you actually knowing this person.

but also at the ashram there were quit a few "lonewolfs" that hardly even said hello when you met them, some of the felt like they were a bit.. what most people would have felt like "special" if you know what I mean,
but I enjoy that. I love it when people are themselves and are not acting and trying to be mainstream,
as long as they dont overdo it and try to hard to be NOT like others..

there were also some families there, there was this one family wich were Indian but they lived in Singapore, and they were really devoted and had spent much time with I think a school of another disciple of the Guru of this ashram. so they were very much into studying the vedic scripts.
on talent night the young boy 10?!? years sat on the stage and sang out many shlokas form the baghavagita in sanskrit, it was amazing to see! he was super smart tough that we had found out already on some of the lectures ha ha.
the even more great thing is when his father came up asweel and started to explain the meaning of some of the shlokas [shlokas are like poetic phrases / verses in sanskrit that are usually chanted], then he said to the young boy "do shloka number 52" and the bouy recitated that one and then the dad explained it ha ha. it was almost weird!

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards